NS&I Boosts Rates On Eight Savings Accounts – Are They Best Buys?
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get your next haul delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

NS&I has increased rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, covering its one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. The move is the second rate increase in two months, but the supplied report does not give the new rates or enough comparison data to establish whether the accounts are best buys.

NS&I has raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, the Treasury-backed savings provider’s second increase in two months. The changes cover its one-, two-, three- and five-year accounts; the report says several now pay more than 5%, though it does not identify those accounts or give their exact rates.

The reported changes apply across four fixed terms: one, two, three and five years. MoneyWeek describes the move as a rate hike on eight accounts, but the supplied report does not break down how many products changed within each term or state the previous and new rates for each account.

The report says several accounts now pay more than 5%. It does not specify whether those rates are annual equivalents, whether interest is paid monthly or at maturity, or whether the quoted rates require a particular account-opening method. Savers would need to check NS&I’s current product terms before deciding whether a rate suits their needs.

The increases follow an earlier round of NS&I rate changes within the previous two months, according to the report. That makes this the provider’s second increase in two months, but the source material does not detail the earlier changes or explain what prompted either round.

At a glance
updateWhen: Reported by MoneyWeek; the supplied sou…
The developmentNS&I raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.

How the Higher Rates Affect Savers

Higher fixed rates can matter to savers who are prepared to set money aside for a defined period. A fixed account may offer a known rate for its term, while access to the deposited money can be restricted or subject to conditions. The exact access rules and account terms for these NS&I products are not included in the supplied report, so they should be checked before opening an account.

The rate increase alone does not establish that an account is a best buy. That judgment depends on comparable rates available elsewhere, as well as term length, access, minimum deposit and how interest is paid. The source material provides no market comparison or ranking, so it supports reporting the rate changes but not a conclusion that NS&I leads the savings market.

NS&I is backed by the UK Treasury, a feature that may be relevant to savers comparing providers and how their deposits are protected. The report identifies NS&I as Treasury-backed but does not discuss protection arrangements or compare them with those offered by other banks and building societies.

Amazon

best fixed rate savings accounts 2024

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Second Increase in Two Months

The development is part of a short sequence of NS&I rate changes: the provider has now raised rates on eight fixed-rate accounts for a second time in two months, according to MoneyWeek. The report names the one-, two-, three- and five-year terms affected and says several rates have moved above 5%.

Fixed-rate savings accounts exchange flexibility for a rate set for an agreed term, subject to each product’s conditions. The length of the term and rules for withdrawing money can affect whether an account is suitable. Those details are not provided in the source material, so this article cannot assess the accounts’ full terms or calculate potential returns.

“NS&I has hiked rates on eight of its fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.”

— MoneyWeek

Exact Rates and Rankings Await

The supplied report does not give the new rates for each account, the date on which the changes take effect, or the old rates needed to calculate the size of each increase. It also does not list account-specific terms such as minimum deposits, withdrawal restrictions or interest-payment options.

Whether any of the accounts are best buys remains unestablished by the material provided. No comparison with competing savings products, market-wide ranking or independent assessment is included. The report also does not state why NS&I made the changes or whether further rate revisions are planned.

Check Product Terms Before Applying

Savers considering an NS&I fixed-rate account should check the provider’s current rate table and product terms for the exact rate, effective date, eligible deposits, access conditions and interest-payment choices. They can then compare accounts with similar terms from other providers before committing money for a fixed period.

The next relevant development would be confirmation of the account-by-account rates and whether NS&I changes them again. The source material gives no timetable for additional changes.

Key Questions

Which NS&I accounts had rate increases?

The report says eight fixed-rate accounts were affected across the one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. It does not identify each account individually.

How many NS&I accounts now pay more than 5%?

MoneyWeek says several now pay more than 5%, but the supplied report does not give a number or name those accounts.

Are the NS&I accounts best buys?

The available source does not establish that. It provides no exact account-by-account rates or comparisons with other providers, so savers would need to compare current products with similar terms.

When do the new NS&I rates take effect?

The supplied report does not state an effective date. Check NS&I’s current product information for the rates and terms in force before applying.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Micro‑Budgeting With Coupons: Saving on $5‑And‑Under Items

Savings with coupons for $5 or less can drastically cut your expenses—discover how to maximize every deal and keep more money in your pocket.

Pensioners Withdraw A Record £22 Billion In Tax-free Lump Sums – Beware Of The Risks

FCA data cited by MoneyWeek shows retirees withdrew more than £22bn in tax-free pension lump sums in 2025/26, up over 20% year on year.

The 30‑Day Coupon Challenge: Save $100 Without Buying Extras

Pursue the 30‑day coupon challenge and discover how focusing on essentials can unlock surprising savings—are you ready to transform your spending habits?

Voice Shopping Savings: How to Use Alexa for Exclusive Amazon Deals

Loving voice shopping? Discover how Alexa unlocks exclusive Amazon deals and tips to maximize your savings—continue reading to find out more.